Review: Absinthe / 28 Hongkong Street

We’ve both heard people rave about Absinthe, so although it hadn’t made it to my list of restaurants to try, I booked it for dinner on Friday before our drinks at 28 Hongkong Street. Located on Boat Quay, the outdoor seating area of the restaurant looks uninteresting and quite similar to all of its neighbors. However when we were ushered to our table inside on the second floor, we were surprised by how dainty and charming the décor is. I chose the Alaskan king crab leg to start with and was a bit taken aback by the fact that I had to extract the meat myself without any tools. It was quite messy (am a messy eater in general) but the crab was indeed very juicy and sweet. It was a refreshing dish that paired well with the Champagne we ordered, though I totally ignored the shreds of green asparagus on the plate as they looked and tasted a bit bland. Under the “indirect” influence from the boyfriend, I’ve grown to love lamb to a point that I’d crave for a good rack and don’t mind having it a bit too often than I should, which is what I got for my main. It was a fairly big portion and I couldn’t say that I was as impressed with it as I would when we cooked it at home. The side of ratatouille was good though, and it went well with the meat. We were both quite full and ended up sharing a mille-feuille. Definitely wasn’t a good idea to have gone through pictures on my phone of the time when I had the best mille-feuille I’d ever had in France since the one at Absinthe was quite far from it. I still love anything that comes with a crust though…

   

The walk from Boat Quay to Hongkong Street was a short one and it was nice to see that our little table of two with my name on a big sign on it had been reserved among this busy and crowded bar. I got so enthralled by the menu that I just wanted to try everything but I knew I can’t and didn’t know what to pick. So we eventually had three, each, which probably explains why I can’t remember much of them but that they were all quite special. Will definitely be back to try the others out, but maybe not three…

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset   

  

Leave a comment