Review: Teppei Sushi

The name Teppei came up when I first searched online for Japanese food around my area. Exploring a bit more on the restaurant i found out that it has a crazy booking system for reserving a place for dinner there. That only tells me one thing,  which is the food must be amazingly good. Luckily they do walk-ins for lunch so knowing how popular it is, I told my friend to be there at 11:30 am but there already was a queue. The wait wasn’t long before they opened their doors 20 mins later and I was surprised to see how tiny the place was with only seats around the bar. We could tell that people around us were all regulars as no menus were given out and everyone seemed to know exactly what to order. I opted for their bara chirashi (from what I’d read it’s the most popular there) and my friend their sansyoku don. Not entirely sure whether all of the chefs behind the bar are Japanese but certainly one in the middle is (picture below). My friend said he’s probably the owner and we could see he was the main person preparing all the food. What I liked about their chirashi was that the soy sauce and assorted cut fish were mingled before being off loaded on a bed of warm rice. This saved me the trouble to having to either dip the fish in soy sauce before every bite or having to pour the sauce over on the top (and in this case the rice stays dry too). The chunks of fish were also cut larger than other chirashi I’ve had, which I preferred as it made a better mouthfeel to every bite. I waited a bit before devouring my last piece of fish and rice, secretly hoping there was more. Needless to say, I’ll obviously be back.

   

Leave a comment